Renos

For those who know me, it is not news that we have done quite a bit of renos this year. It has been stressful, to say the least. When my husband gets in his head that he wants something done, it gets done.

I think I should point out here that I am the ultimate “make-do” gal. Throughout much of these renos I squawked about the amount of work involved. (Of note: I forgot to mention that though my husband gets things done, he does not often do the work alone. He recruits his wife at every opportunity, and insists on very tight timelines.)

When I vented to friends I was told to count my blessings, because they were all waiting on their husbands to finish some project(s) around the house. Yet I think I might be the ideal woman. Never in my life have I uttered the words, “I think the couch would look better on that wall.”

In spite of my griping we have a beautiful house. I hadn’t appreciated when we started just how much anxiety was caused by looking at the house. It was filled with general clutter (very little of it mine), old furniture, dated decor, and it desperately needed a paint job. We had both stopped “seeing” it, making do instead of doing the work that would bring our home up to it’s potential.

This can be true of anything. Take some time to think about what you want to see. This can be with anything from decorating to writing to Excel spreadsheets. Fixing something when it’s not broken is very satisfying

Leave a Reply

